Goodbye T-Rizzle!! & Cinnamon Rolls

T-Rizzle

That’s what R & D-man call #12

Tonight…He’s going home! For good!!  So excited for him, for his mom, & for us!!

I guess in his own weird way he decided to give me a big send off..by screaming extra today..starting at 6:30 am. *sigh*

Some have asked if I’m sad. Answer? No. We’ve known from the beginning he would return home.  We’ve gotten to know his mom a lot in the last 7.5 months.  We’ve carted him & his things back & forth with her the last couple of months. He’s 10times happier with his mom than with me. #10 is happier when T-Rizzle’s not around…All around this is such a great thing!

The case will be open a little longer. It’s called “monitored return.”  Once the case is closed I’ll put pics up of him.  I have a signed note from his mom saying I’m allowed to, so I will, probably. 😉

I called Christian Homes to let them know. &  to say I’m ready for #13!! Bring on the babies!! This time we’re limiting our age 0-3 (maybe 4) months.  Gotta put a gap between #10 & the next one. & in all honesty, I am a BABY LOVER!!  We’ll adopt #10 (well, assuming that works out), adopt 1 more so #10’s not the random adopted child, then keep the last spot open to foster….maybe forever. That means no nursing school for me.  Nursing School would probably take me 3-4 years (I’d have a few science pre-reqs to do even though I already have my bachelors). That’s a lot of time to be away from kids & a lot of time for R to be alone with all kids. I guess those are a couple of big decisions that we have made in the last couple of weeks.

ANYWAYS…

So R was gone last night & today..so what do I do? let D-man & A-girl each have a friend over for sleepover. Plan arts & crafts, make cinnamon rolls from scratch, clean out attic & start working on CCC stuff. Yup. I’m crazy. For some reason when I have nothing to do, I do nothing. When there’s a lot going on I try to see how much I can get done.  I don’t always make a lot of sense.

A couple people asked for the Cinnamon Roll recipe…so here it is along with some pics!

Here’s my mom’s Cinnamon Roll Recipe.  She rolls them tighter & bakes them farther apart than I did this time. My batch made 20 HUGE rolls. If you made them smaller it could make more like 2 dozen. & I do the whole thing in my kitchen aid. no hand kneading or anything. If you want softer rolls, put them touching, or near touching before they rise. If you want more individual style rolls have them not touching.

  • 2 c. hot water
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp salt

Mix Well, then add 2 pkg dry yeast.

Let sit a few minutes until bubbly. Add 1 beaten egg & 1/4 c. oil (I used unsweetened applesauce instead & it worked just fine!)

Mix well & Add 6-7 cups flour, beating well after each cup.

Knead until smooth (or use dough hook on mixer). Cover & let rise. (I think it took 45 min-1 hr?)

Punch down & roll out. slather melted butter or margarine (I used a whole stick of light Margarine). sprinkle cinnamon & sugar(I used 1/2 c. sugar..but it depends on how sweet you want. you could probably use brown sugar too or instead!)

Roll up in a long roll. Cut into 1/2-1″ pieces (ok, mine were more like 1.5″ slices). & place on cookie sheet.

Let rise.

Bake 375 for 10-20 Min. Let cool.

Frosting:

  • 1 lb powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 stick melted margarine
  • milk-enough to make spreading consistency

PS-Weight Watchers points…assuming it makes 18 rolls…

Roll(6 Pnts+) Frosting (3 pnts +)

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye T-Rizzle!! & Cinnamon Rolls

  1. kate says:

    looks amazing. might just have to try these this week! thanks for sharing, and i totally understand what you’re talking about when you said nothing to do = do nothing. busy = productive. that’s me! 🙂 excited to see you lots this week!

Leave a Reply

