My sweet girl

HAD to share this sweet thought by my sweet A(she’s 7.5 yrs)

Last weekend someone asked if we’d adopt #14 tomorrow if we could.

Robbie & I said we for sure would & said “kids, wouldn’t you?”

D(almost 9 yrs old) said YES!

A got a little sad & said that wouldn’t be fair to his mom. She deserves time to learn to make better choices & get him back. “Mom, you wouldn’t want someone just taking D away & giving him to someone else would you?”

Their tender hearts are so sweet. & beyond my compassion level for sure.

I did have to explain to her that often parents give up their children. She couldn’t quite grasp that.

Oh & did I ever tell y’all about D’s comment a few months back?  The day #10’s parents signed over their rights we were so excited to tell the kids that we were for sure going to get to adopt this little one who is so much a part of our family. We assumed they’d be ecstatic as they’ve been talking about adopting him for as long as he’s been with us.

D’s response when I told him was not at all what I expected.  He got a little sad & said “what? they didn’t even try to get their son back?” wish I would have wrote down exactly what he said, but he was more sad for the bio parents. I really was at a loss in how to respond.

Fostering/adopting is such a fine line in caring for & praying for the bio family & at the same time looking out for the child’s best interest.It’s probably been hard for my kids to grasp all this since some parents we never meet & then there was one mom who we took to church & lunch with us. Let’s be honest here, it’s hard for me to grasp sometimes too!

I’m so thankful for their compassionate hearts that care for the bio parents so much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

